Ideas for Assignment 5

I had three ideas brewing for a while as potential subjects for Assignment 5 and after receiving my tutor’s feedback from Assignment 4 I ran the ideas past him.

  1. We have an elevated commuter train here in Vancouver called the Skytrain and it has 3 segments to it. The original line is called the Expo Line, then there is a Millennium Line and the latest addition is the Canada Line which was put in especially for the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver. I was originally thinking of “riding the line” from beginning to end on the Expo line, photographing commuters on the train, at the station, the passing scenery and showing the different socio-economic pockets of Vancouver. However, this line has about 20 stations so it might be too much, unless I leave some of the less interesting stops out.
  2. My second option was about the new Canada Line and doing a story as a tourist’s first impression of Vancouver, basically from the airport where the line starts and culminating either at the last stop in the city.
  3. My final idea and original one was to do a narrative on a place called Finn Slough. Its a tiny enclave that Finnish immigrants settled between in the late 1800’s and just after World War II, and they built their houses literally on stilts and pilings in the mud flats next to a river. It has now become an artists’/fisher community and is pretty much a squatter town. There is also an environmental story there as there are all sorts of flora and birdlife in that area.

My tutor liked my first idea, warned me off the second one and said the last idea was the best. So I think Finn Slough it is.

Finn Slough

Finn Slough

