Assignment 5 – Reworked

As a result of the constructive feedback I received from my tutor, I have made a few revisions to my final assignment.

My tutor mentioned that my cover image was not sharp and thought that it was a blown up image. While it was mot definitely not blown up, I do agree that it lacked a bit of sharpness. The flag which forms an immediate focal point was caught in a pre-dawn breeze and due to the long exposure it caused a blur. I have substituted another image which does not have this movement.

Finn Slough at high tide just prior to sunrise - revised

Finn Slough at high tide just prior to sunrise – revised

My tutor had remarked that my second image was not very interesting and needed more depth, so I have substituted an image that shows the whole bridge at Finn Slough, taken during a low tide.

Drawbridge at Finn Slough

The drawbridge at Finn Slough which provides access to Gilmour Island. During high tide residents going out in their fishing boats have to remove the vertical planks in the middle of the bridge to enable the boats to pass through to the other side in order to exit to the Fraser River. (Revised)

For my third image, my tutor remarked that I maybe had a bit too much water in the foreground. I did agree with this as this has initially worried me. I have now give the image a panorama crop and I think it is better this way.

Western view of Finn Slough at high tide just prior to sunrise

Western view of Finn Slough at high tide just prior to sunrise – reworked

I have not changed the following image at all, but simply added to the caption to make it clear that it is a low tide image.

White house

A Finn Slough resident tends to her pot plants on her deck in the early morning hour. At low tide the wetlands grass and skunk cabbages, which are usually covered by water when the tide is in, are visible.

My tutor thought my fifth image was perhaps too pretty and suggested that I lift the houses out of the darkness more. I had already lifted them quite a bit and as the sunrise was behind the houses I think it would have looked unnatural if the houses had more light in front of them than behind. So I have substituted this image for another of the same house shot just a little later during sunrise.

High tide and sunrise over Finn Slough

High tide and sunrise over Finn Slough. (Revised)

While I found that the sign on the drawbridge (9th image) revealed an extra element of the character of Finn Slough, I have removed it as per my tutor’s suggestion, but have substituted another detail image of an element close to someone’s home.

Beer bottle tops in a cedar log create a novel decoration next to a gang plank leading to a resident's home.

Beer bottle tops in a cedar log create a novel decoration next to a gang plank leading to a resident’s home. (Revised)

Also as suggested by my tutor I have removed the image with the Seaspan ferry (figure 8).

The final narrative can be seen here in the revised PDF version. As a result of removing the Seaspan ferry image (figure 8) my layout changed and I could no longer put in a double page spread image as this would leave my PDF version with too much white space. However, if I had chosen to use space filler text such as Lorem Ipsum text then I would have chosen the Mermaid image (10th image) as the double page spread, but not being a graphic designer, I have opted to keep things simple.

I have had a mockup made as a magazine of the final narrative (the PDF above) for the assessment submission and while it was made by a professional print shop, I had failed to instruct the printer to add a back cover to the pages. I would normally request this to be corrected, but as the printer was doing me a special favour by not charging me and had dropped off the booklet while I was in a meeting, I did not want to appear ungrateful or misuse his kindness.

